Healthy Summer Books for 2015

Healthy Summer Books for 2015

I hope this summer finds you expanding your knowledge of health and wellness.  Even though I’ve been a fitness trainer for over 20 years, I’m always the student and learning new things. Here are some noteworthy books I’ve been reading on my kindle this year for health, wellness, energy, pain management, and more.  

Click any highlighted text or photo to take you to Amazon for more details.

Happy is the New Healthy by Dave Romanelli

Happy is the new Healthy

Happy is the New Healthy was on a kindle deal about a month ago, so I thought I’d give it a shot.  What a fun read!  It has awesome ideas on ways to be mindful and enjoy your life.  He understands, it’s the little things in life that make each day worthwhile. 

The next two books are on the power of the breath.  I have a client that had recently gone to physical therapy for some nerve issues in her leg and two therapists told her she needed to learn diaphragmatic breathing.  I honestly new nothing about it, so thought I better read up!

I read a few books on breathing techniques, but these next two were the best.

the healing power of the breath by Richard Brown MD & Patricia Gerbarg MD

the healing power of the breath

The Healing Power of the Breath has great explanations on the various types of breathing techniques and what they actually do for your body.  It includes an audio program, so that you know the correct speed to breathe.  I like the Coherent Breathing exercise the best.  It’s calming and invigorating at the same time.  They recommend you do 20 minutes daily, but even if you only have 5 minutes, it’s better than nothing!

The Power of Breathing by K Jeanie

the power of breathingThis kindle book is short and to the point.  It’s a simple explanataion of how the diaphragm works with your breathing and how to do it.  It has you starting from a lying position with the breath work, and shows you how to progress it to standing, walking, jogging, etc.

The Hormone Cure by Sara Gottfried, MD

The Hormone Cure

I haven’t finished this book yet, but so far it’s a very interesting read.  This book is for women of all ages.  She does a great job of explaining the body’s different hormones (maybe a little too repetitive though) and what happens when these hormones are unbalanced.  For example, our busy lifestyles tend to increase the stress hormone, Cortisol, which can put our bodies out of whack making us feel fatigued and unable to concentrate.  This book gives you ideas and tools you can use to get yourself back on track and what questions you should ask your doctor.

Yoga for Pain Relief by Kelly McGonigal

Yoga for pain relief

Yoga for Pain Relief is a good book to have in your pain management library, but the kindle version is not user friendly. Spend the extra $3 and get the paperback copy.  These practices are simple and there are great chair modifications for many of the poses.  This makes it more accessible to people of all ages.

Yoga as Medicine by Yoga Journal and Timothy McCall

Yoga as Medicine

If you are deciding between Yoga for Pain Relief or Yoga as Medicine, I would probably get Yoga for Medicine first. Yoga for Medicine is more detailed.  There are chapters on cancer, back pain, menopause, MS, fibromyalgia, headaches, arthritis, asthma, chronic fatigue and more.  I found the exercises for carpal tunnel syndrome really beneficial for my own wrist pain (even though I don’t have carpal tunnel syndrome).

A Guide to Better Movement by Todd R. Hargrove

A Guide to  Better Movement

The Guide to Better Movement is another interesting read, but – I will warn you – he is VERY detailed in his explanations.  It took me a while to read the first few chapters.  I do like the chapter, Lessons, which goes over Feldenkrais techniques he guides you through for spine lengthening, increasing rotations, releasing the neck, shoulder rotation, sitting in a chair, etc.  It got me interested in the Feldenkrais Method and I may need to research more on this.  This book is great for athletes or for people dealing with pain.

Holy Yoga by Brooke Boon

Holy YogaMany yoga instructors teach yoga as a spiritual practice.  I personally don’t make my yoga practice a spiritual journey, but if I were to, then the meditation chapter in this book is what really appeals to me as a Christian.  She gives you great ideas on how to make your practice a spiritual one.  Side note: I also did an online Holy Yoga class, but I found the Christian music distracting and I wasn’t able to be really mindful in the poses.

Healthy at Home by Tieraona Low Dog MD

Healthy at Home

Healthy at Home is just a great book to add to your library. It gives you remedies for various common ailments and when it’s best to call your doctor.

Have you read any books recently on healthy living that you enjoy?  Let me know in the comments below!  Happy Summer Reading!!

Leave a Reply

