Fit(bit) Through the Holidays

Holiday parties, shopping for gifts, and shorter days make it tough to fit in fitness. You need to stay active to rev metabolism, increase energy, and decrease stress – plain and simple! Sometimes, we need to grab that tool out of the toolbox to keep us in check. That tool for me this month is definitely Fitbit.

fitbit flex

Fitbit Flex tracks your daily activity. Even intermittent activity you do throughout the day increases your overall health and wellness. It doesn’t have to be continuous to receive heart healthy benefits – it all adds up.

A good goal is to hit 10,000 steps daily and make those steps count!

Most days, I know I can cut out at least 20 minutes of me time for cardio. A run on the waterfront is perfect. Twenty minutes is just one third of one hour. That’s realistic and doable when your holiday schedule tends to fill up.

fitbit running

For those days that just seem to slip away, I will either try to walk to pick up the kiddo from school…

fitbit kids 3

or I’ll take him to the park. He plays on the playground equipment while I walk the perimeter of the playground. We also explore the park and enjoy our surroundings.

fitbit hiking

Take the stairs instead of the elevators and escalators, meet friends for a walk at lunchtime, and park at the far end of parking lots to log in extra steps.  Just sync the Fitbit to your phone to see real time stats of your efforts.

fitbit parking tip

Not only does Fitbit track your fitness (steps, distance, calories, & active minutes), but it will track your sleep patterns as well.  How cool is that!?

fitbit sleep

Anything that motivates you to move more and to live healthier is truly worth investing in.

Fitbit makes it fun to #FindYourFit  

 

fitbit holidays

You can find out more details on Fitbit products here.

Disclosure: This post was sponsored by Fitbit through their partnership with POPSUGAR Select. While I was compensated to write a post about Fitbit, all opinions are my own.

9 thoughts on “Fit(bit) Through the Holidays

    • My gym (work) schedule always dies down in December, so it’ll keep me on track until it gets crazy next month for New Years resolution time. 🙂

  1. Great photos again, Joy! Wish I had been well enough to go check out that Nisquallie’ nature preserve near Lacy!! U are sooooo talented, fit and LV n’ your’s!!!
    Bitfit shots are great….H B Day Joy

  2. I just got one of these too. I think living in NYC people just assume that they get 10k steps in…and they don’t! It has to be a priority, like all other things in fitness. And now I must go walk…

  3. I just received one from my husband for my birthday and I am amazed at how many miles I walk just being a borderline ADD person! It’s great to look and see how far I am away from my daily goal and then to get out and walk to make up the difference. It has proven to be a great accountability tool for me.

Leave a Reply

