Book Review: Pain Free by Pete Egoscue with Roger Gittines

Pain Free

The kindle version of Pain Free: A Revolutionary Method for Stopping Chronic Pain by Pete Egoscue (with Roger Gittines) came out in June of this year at Amazon. Please note that the original copyright is from 1998, but with almost 700 reviews and a 4.6 out of 5 star rating (as of this posting date), I thought it was worth reading and reviewing.

I’m always researching different ways to treat my chronic neck and upper back aches without the use of medications or aggressive manipulation. Pete Egoscue is labeled as a “Postural Therapist” and posture is key to relieving musculoskeletal pain. Pete takes you through a series of exercises (mainly yoga poses) that he has labeled as “E-cises”. There’s specific E-cises for each chronic pain area. None of these E-cises are new though, let’s be clear about that. There’s also plenty of ideas and mini tests to help increase your own body awareness.

Egoscue Method pain management programs include:

  • Foot
  • Ankle
  • Knee
  • Hip
  • Back
  • Shoulder
  • Elbow, Wrist, and Hands
  • Neck and Head
  • Sports Injuries & Peak Performance
  • General Maintenance

You hold each exercise for 1-5 minutes (unless you have a program with the hip stretch that is held for 20-45 minutes). Each program is anywhere from 15-60 minutes and is strongly suggested to do first thing in the morning.  I did go into this book with an open mind.  I thought if I get just one new idea out of the book, it’s going to be worth it (and I actually did get a few tips).

I did feel like the first three chapters were just a bit long.  It was the same information rephrased over and over. The other negative for me was reading his client stories – a couple are fine, but it got old. With that said, I still felt confident it could help people. All exercise techniques are focused to realign the body.

I’ve been doing the neck pain program for a month now. Here’s a lame selfie below of one of the E-cises (just resting with hips and knees bent at 90 degree angles).

jfs

I still have neck pain, but I have to say, it’s actually not as intense as it was. I know I need to stay consistent with it to continue to see results. When you’ve been dealing with chronic pain for years, it’s not going to miraculously disappear overnight – don’t expect that.  It takes time to undo bad habits and muscles compensating for poor function.

If you are dealing with your own pain, it might be worth looking into.   I bought my copy from Amazon for about $9 here.  There is also a DVD version you can check out here.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Pain Free by Pete Egoscue with Roger Gittines

  1. I’m glad you’ve experienced some relief. I’ve heard of herbal remedies. Ever looked into that? Hmm i think I’m getting clues into becoming a physical therapist

  2. Hi Joy, Hello from another corner of the Pacific NW – Portland! I’m glad you are starting to get some neck pain relief with the Egoscue e-cises from Pain Free. Since it doesn’t sound like you are seeing dramatic results, it might be worth changing what you are doing because your body will get used to doing the same thing after a couple weeks. If there is another chapter in the book that speaks to you that is one place to start or I’d be happy to help you figure out what might be the next most logical menu to try. I’m also happy to give you a free posture evaluation which will point out your major imbalances and help you focus on what needs to change for you to be pain free. Let me know if I can help in any way. – Matt – http://www.oregonexercisetherapy.com

Leave a Reply

