DVD Review: Yoga for Belly, Butt, and Thighs

 

Yoga for Belly, Butt, and Thighs

It is Yoga Week here at JFS (since it is National Yoga Month).  So, here is a brand new yoga DVD to challenge those often neglected “trouble zone” areas.  Yoga for Belly, Butt, and Thighs is a new release from Chrissy Carter. Who doesn’t want to focus on belly, butt, and thighs?!

Yoga for Belly, Butt, and Thighs 1

 

This is my first DVD from Chrissy, so I didn’t really know what to expect.  I was pleasantly surprised.  She has great cues so you get the most out of your practice.  This is a true intermediate level workout.  *You need to have a base level of strength before doing this yoga routine.  If you are advanced, you could pause the DVD and hold the poses longer.

The Belly Practice has a pilates feel to it.  Some of the movements seem small, but you really need to focus on keeping your abs in tight to get the most out of the poses.  Yes, there is a plank sequence in this one, but you probably haven’t seen one or two of these planks before (and I’ve seen 100’s).  I will say, you will need to be careful with the triangle pose.  You don’t use the support of your bottom arm, so don’t go as deep into the pose as you normally would, to start with.

The Butt Practice is super slow – but in a good way.  You hold poses for a longer period of time, breathing into each pose for at least 8 breaths.  It is challenging – I was shaking with some of the moves!  I love the beginning “leg lift” work, it’s different than the way I typically do these moves, so my butt felt it!

The Thigh Practice is another slow, controlled routine.  The key is to go in and out of the moves as slow and as fluid as you can.  If you have good body awareness (kinesthetic), I suggest watching yourself in a mirror as you follow her cues.  I felt it made the practice harder.  If you don’t have good kinesthetic awareness, don’t watch yourself in the mirror.  You may push yourself beyond your limits and you don’t want to overdo it.

The Complete Core Practice is all done on your back.  She just tweaks the exercises that you already do in the first belly practice, but it’s still worth doing.

You can check out the preview for this DVD here…

I have two minor complaints.  First, there isn’t a “play all” section, so you have to stop and hit your remote if you want to do more than one practice per session. I don’t think it matters which order you do these in.  As a trainer, I’ll just say which ever ones you want to be strongest for, do first.  My second complaint is that on the back cover says each practice is 20 minutes (and bonus is 15 minutes), but if you are on a time crunch and rely on that time, you’ll be running 10 minutes late.  The Belly Practice is 23 minutes, the Butt Practice is 25 minutes and the other two run over a minute.  You add that up, and it’s 10 minutes more.  Which is fine, but why not disclose that on the back?

I do really like this yoga DVD.  The super slow technique is great cross training for me and I realize that I need to do it more often (even with my weight training).

I bought my copy at Amazon for about $15 here.

 

*Consult your physician before starting any new exercise program.

Leave a Reply

