Mud and Chocolate Trail Run? Yes, Please!

Mud and Chocolate

Chocolate?  I know that got your attention!  I got home a day early from Banff and went on Running in the USA’s website to see this 3 mile trail run for last Saturday morning.  I was all over it!  It was perfect weather for a run – cloudy and just a couple sprinkles.

Mud and Chocolate 1

It was held at Robinswood Park in Bellevue.  That was my first time at that park.

Mud and Chocolate 2

See?  Really pretty location and perfect for those just starting out with trail running.  The trails are relatively flat not real “rooty”.

They had a kids dash first that went around the pond twice.  I was really impressed with Nina from NRG Running (who put on the event).   She explained to the kids where they would be running and to save some energy by starting at a slower pace.  Here she is below cheering them on!

Mud and Chocolate 3

At the end of the race they all received a chocolate medal and chocolate milk.  They were all so proud.  It was really cute!

Next, it was the adults turn.

Mud and Chocolate 4

Mud and Chocolate 5

 

At the end, we got chocolate medals too and chocolate bar from Seattle Chocolates. Yay, us!  There was also a treat table set up with chocolate truffles, donuts, and other yummy choices…

Mud and Chocolate 7

Would I do this race again?  Definitely!  Nina said her goal was to have a fun event to get people excited for fitness and running.  It also helped raise money for the Ben Towne Pediatric Cancer Foundation.

As I was walking back to my car, I overheard a couple ladies say this was their first race of the year, they liked that this one was shorter than other trail run races, and that they were excited to do more.  That is great to hear (as a personal trainer myself).

There are a couple more Mud and Chocolate trail run events coming up this year that you can check out here.

Do you trail run? Ever done a race for yummy chocolate?

7 thoughts on “Mud and Chocolate Trail Run? Yes, Please!

  1. This was my 2nd 5k and my 1st trail run and it was a blast. I have signed up for the 4.5k in Nov – so excited! Have you been a runner for awhile? I started in December of last year!

  2. This was my 2nd 5k and my 1st trail run and it was a blast. I have signed up for the 4.5k in Nov – so excited! Have you been a runner for awhile? I started in December of last year!

    • I dabble in a lot of activities myself (kind of have to as a trainer and fit blogger). As for running, I love the fun ones like this and stick with 5-10K’s. I may see you in November if it works with my schedule! 🙂

  3. Reblogged this on Natures Healing and commented:
    What an interesting idea! All we need is healthy chocolate and somewhere to do a trail run that isn’t “rooty” Anyone know of anywhere around the Gold Coast where we could organise something like this? I know of a healthy chocolate supplier who may be interested 🙂

  4. Pingback: Trail Running Tips for Beginners | Joy, Fitness, & Style

Leave a Reply

