Thrive Energy Cookbook Review

Thrive Energy Cookbook

I thought this would be the perfect cookbook to share with you on St. Patty’s Day, since we are all thinking green today!

Thrive Energy Cookbook: 150 Plant-Based Whole Food Recipes is the latest book by Brendan Brazier. Brendan is a former professional Ironman triathlete, and the creator of whole food nutritional products called Vega. He is also a two-time Canadian 50km Ultra Marathon Champion.

Brendan starts off by telling you what it means to eat plant based, whole foods. Basically, it means eating foods that are easily digested and that give you the most energy. With 150 recipes, you are bound to find some healthy recipes to incorporate into an “American” diet – even if you don’t follow it strictly.  There are some suggested transitional recipes to try first if you aren’t use to the plant based diet philosophy.  Since he is an athlete, he has meal plans for pre and post workouts also, which is a nice bonus.

The recipes are broken down into the following categories:

  • Morning
  • Appetizers, sauces, dips
  • Sandwiches, wraps, burgers
  • Soups, salads, dressings
  • Rice and noodle bowls
  • Smoothies, juices, warm drinks
  • Desserts

This book can be intimidating to those who don’t eat a strict whole foods diet, but I’m confident anyone could find a few recipes to incorporate into their own lifestyle to improve their overall health.  There are 40 juice/smoothie/drink recipes alone, which is an easy way to fit more nutrient dense foods into your diet.

The recipes I’ve tried so far:

Thrive

  • Kale Mojito (btw, no alcohol in this and use less ice) – really yummy and will make it again this week!
  • Lemon-Ginger Zinger – ok, but tastes better when you use very little ice.  It still tastes like it’s missing something special though. I’ll need to tweak it.
  • Caesar Sprout Salad – great tasting and will make this again!
  • Chocolate Chip, Chia & Mint Ice Cream (not really ice cream, you use frozen bananas) – it was interesting.  I didn’t use chia seeds though, because I knew I couldn’t sell my husband and son on that.  I’m going to try this again and refreeze after I process everything together.  I felt like it wasn’t cold enough, even though you start with frozen bananas.
  • Grilled Portobello Mushrooms –  love and Portobello mushrooms are always filling.

Recipes I can’t wait to try:

  • Cranberry Almond Muesli Cereal
  • Blueberry Cacao Pre-Workout Performance Cereal
  • Hot Apple Pie Waffle
  • Cashew Berry French Toast
  • Red Lentil & Chickpea Burger Patties
  • Falafel Patties
  • Pad Thai Sauce
  • Wasabi Aioli
  • Raspberry and Sweet Basil Balsamic Vinaigrette
  • Blueberry Buckwheat Energy Bars
  • Super Fruit Sangria (no alcohol, so they should call it something else)
  • Coconut-Cashew-Date Energy Boost
  • Heavenly Pistachio Bliss
  • Great Green Pick-Me-Up
  • Chocolate-Truffle-Caramel Mocha
  • Almond Butter Cups
  • Cashew Chocolate Mousse Layer Cake

I’m really glad I purchased this cookbook.  Even if I just get a couple recipes (which I already have), then I think it’s worth the price. I personally don’t eat strictly whole foods, so this is a great way to incorporate more of these foods into my diet (and my family’s diet).

I bought my kindle version off of Amazon for $13 here (paperback available too here).

Here’s a couple other of my other healthy cookbook reviews too:

Are you guys cooking up anything special for St. Patty’s Day?

2 thoughts on “Thrive Energy Cookbook Review

Leave a Reply

