Fitness DVD Reviews: Daily Yoga and Yoga for Weight Loss

I finally started to realize how much I like Colleen Saidman when I bought Rodney Yee’s Daily Yoga DVD earlier this year.

image

As many of you know, I am a huge Rodney Yee fan and own many of his yoga DVDs.  This beginner/intermediate level DVD is in my current weekly rotation for my (as of now) daily yoga practice.

There are 5 workouts on this DVD:

  • Day 1 : Build the Foundation (Iyengar) focuses on the basics and form.  Beginners should start with this practice. 25 minutes
  • Day 2: Energize (Vinyasa) focuses on fluid movement (Colleen Saidman is the instructor for this particular workout). 20 minutes
  • Day 3: Strengthen the Core focuses on strength and movement in the abs and back. 18 minutes
  • Day 4: Clean It Out (Ashtanga) focuses on detoxing the body.  25 minutes
  • Day 5: Calm Down (Restorative) focuses on the breath.  15 minutes

I really like the way Colleen opens up the shoulders in day 2, followed by the modified sun salutations of day 4, and breath and relaxation of day 5.  I always feel great after doing these 3 practices together for an hour routine.  The other 2 are really good too, I just don’t have time for an hour and forty minutes of yoga.

image

The scenery and music are an added bonus to these routines – especially the music!

The only negative might be that the first and last workout aren’t in the same beautiful scenery, but it doesn’t bother me.  I bought my copy at Amazon for about $8 here.

Since I’m now a Colleen fan, I decided to purchase Colleen Saidman’s Yoga for Weight Loss to add a little more variety to my practice.

image

There are 3 practices on this dvd:

  • Total Body Flow (25 min)
  • Whittle Your Middle (32 min)
  • Strengthen & Energize (22 min)

These routines work your body in all planes of motion for a balanced practice (forward and back, side to side, and rotation). Colleen cues really well to keep you safe.

image

I would consider it an intermediate workout because you should know terminology and how the body should feel in each pose before attempting it.  The scenery is amazing, but the music on this one is just ok (my opinion).

There are a couple negatives, but I’m really nitpicking.   Colleen doesn’t mirror you, so if any of the moves are new to you, it may confuse you a little.  Also, the workouts aren’t 20 minutes as advertised (see above).  I did all routines at once, and I ran over my hour by 19 minutes.  Typical yogis – going over time and not telling us!

I will definitely be adding this one to my weekly rotation as well.  I bought my copy at Amazon for about $7 here.

Both these DVDs have plenty of options and are really easy to follow.   Give them a try!  Namaste.  🙂 

2 thoughts on “Fitness DVD Reviews: Daily Yoga and Yoga for Weight Loss

Leave a Reply

