Active Lifestyles: Kate

wpid-PicsArt_1369867734324.jpg
Kate Spiller
Age: 33
Seattle, WA
WildTalesof
I’ve been following Kate’s blog about her family’s travels and adventures for over a year now.  She has great tips on travelling with a little one and is a great model of what an active family should look like.   I asked her a couple quick questions about that active lifestyle and here’s what she had to say:
What does your typical activity week look like?
I am all over the place in terms of the the sports or disciplines I choose to do in order to stay active.  One thing that stays constant, with huge thanks to our dog & toddler, is walking.  When my husband gets home from work in the late afternoon, it’s our routine to walk to a local park or playground.  This gives our son, Bergen, a chance to release his energy and we all have fun as a family, and with Bergen in the stroller, my husband and I get a chance to connect and catch up on our days.  Our outings can range anywhere from a half hour to an hour and half, and on average we log 3 or 4 miles.  We walk at least 4 times a week.
In addition to walking, on any given week I might hike, ride my bike, and this week I even gave indoor climbing a try! I also enjoy running, but my interest goes in phases.  For some reason I can’t seem to commit to running several times a week unless I am training for a race.  My favorite distance is the half marathon, and most recently I combined my love of hiking & running, and completed a half marathon trail run.  While training, I run 3 to 4 days a week.
How long have you been into your active lifestyle.
I can’t remember not being active! From a elementary to middle to high school, I was always involved in one sport or another, and from basketball to field hockey to swimming & track. Now as an adult, I’ve gotten into more individual sports and disciplines as well as just trying to keep up with my very active toddler!
Spend time with your family and friends doing active adventures together.  Not only will you be doing something healthy for you, but you will create life long memories in the process.
Leave a Reply

