Active Lifestyles: VGrandja

wpid-PicsArt_1369867734324.jpg

Active Lifestyles Profile: VGrandja

Age: 43

From: Canada

Blog: Fitness Through Walking (Click title or her picture to take you to her current blog).

VGrandja

I have followed VGrandja’s fitness transformation from the beginning through her blog, and I’m so so happy for her!  She is super inspiring!!

VGrandja before:
Before: May_13_2012
VGrandja after:
After: Dec_17_2012
 She was nice enough to tell me what her activity level is nowadays.  Check it out below.
Typical workout week now:
The weeks vary – which is the best thing I think I’m doing for myself. I plan to keep on exercising until I can’t physically do it anymore (that’s right! When I’m dead!). I go to the YMCA and one week I may be there for three times a week and each visit I have totalled somewhere between 9 to 11 hours of exercise. This includes brisk walking to and from the YMCA. I use the Elliptical Trainer (Manual Program, Treadmill (Manual, Cardio and Fat Burn Programs) and the Exercise Bike. At the start of using the exercise bike I was cycling at the same pace. Since two weeks ago, I have been increasing the speed every other five minutes. I use each machine for about 30 minutes at a time and I find myself sweaty and feeling good afterwards. I haven’t hit a workout plateau yet, and when I do I’ll have to chose another workout program, i.e. from any of the machines I’m using.
I’m also doing Arriba, Pilates and as of June 5 Yoga.
I’ve been seeing a physiotherapist and even though I still have tight piriformis and hamstrings I’m still exercising. The thing now is stretching these muscles throughout the day. Even then, I change the stretching exercises to challenge the muscles.
I’ve started upping my exercise activity since the beginning of March 2013. I’m at a better place in my life and can focus more on me now that my major stressors are nowhere near me. I will be starting a new blog that is about my personal journey. It will include things I’ve done with respect to exercise, but not sure how I can take a pic of myself while I’m doing these classes. Don’t think that’s allowed anyways.
That’s all I have to say about my physical fitness journey. I’m happy with doing so much for myself. It’s about time, I think!

VGrandja has built up to this current level of activity, she started her transformation by simply walking. Walking is one of the best forms of exercise because it’s an activity you need to be able to do your entire life to be mobile.

If you are just starting out, start small and stay consistent. Have your goal be to get in 30 minutes of activity five days per week. This is where you will get the healthy benefits of a stronger heart that is able to function better with each heartbeat. You’ll feel better, have more energy, and increase your quality of life!

Leave a Reply

