Keep Motivated with Fitness DVDs

When it’s raining, cold, and just hard to get yourself to go outdoors, you can always pop in a fitness DVD to keep you motivated and on track!

Workout DVDs are great because it’s like taking a class from a top instructor or trainer in the business without leaving your home.  Even though I’ve been teaching classes for the past 20 years, I still love trying new workouts.  I buy new DVDs all the time from either Amazon or Collage Video.

Here’s three different ones I pulled from my fitness library that I actually did this past week.

If you are just starting out on your fitness journey or just feeling stressed, you may want to try Yoga for Stress Relief with Barbara Benagh.

There are over 20 routines, so you are bound to find a couple favorites. Barbara has a very calming voice and helps you find your breath awareness. The practices that focus on neck and shoulder pain and insomnia are my personal favorites.

10 Minute Solutions Pilates Perfect Body is an intermediate workout lead by Suzanne Bowen.

This is more of a contemporary style Pilates workout. You can choose one ten minute workout or do all five for total body conditioning. I do really like this workout and her teaching style.  If you are tired of doing pilates exercises the same way, she breathes new life into these traditional exercises. I will say, she does mess up on a couple exercises in the arm workout saying you work different muscles than you actually work, but I’ll let that slide because the exercises are still effective.  Sorry Suzanne, had to say it.

If you need an advanced cardio session and have a little bit of room, you should try Amy Bento’s Hi/Low Xtreme.

It’s such a great workout, but you do have to have a bit of coordination. She has a modifier to show less intense options during the interval challenges. Amy is such a fabulous instructor, but warning you – she is tough!

Stay active and have fun doing it!

5 thoughts on “Keep Motivated with Fitness DVDs

  1. That is an option. Thing about DVD workouts for me, at this stage, is that i’m burning 10% of the calories that i do from brisk walking. Once i’m at 150 pounds i won’t need to keep burning 800 kcal per workout.

    • Well, it just depends on the workout. Beachbody workouts are more intense and burn more calories, Cathe Friedrich, Amy Bento, and Patrick Goudeau are also advanced with their workouts. If you go to collage video and click on advanced workouts – you’ll see there are alot of choices. They also divide it up by simple to complex choreography too.

      • That’s true. I’ve used Kathy Smith in the past and now Jillian Michaels.

        Then…the next thing for me is to try workouts from other instructors until I find one suitable for me and one that will get me to burn at least 500 calories in 30-40 minutes.

  2. I have that very yoga workout DVD. I love it. It was a lifesaver when I was unable to do my normal workouts due to neck and shoulder injury. I pick a couple to do twice a week just to unwind after work. Great post.

Leave a Reply

