Wall Sit Challenge!

When was the last time you challenged yourself or someone else to wall sit?

Wall sits are a great lower body exercise. The 1 leg, stability ball, and medicine ball exercises challenge your core muscles as well!

I’ll walk you through the modified wall sit, then you can see the picture examples for progressions.

*Modified Wall Sit:   Stand against the wall with your heels about 15 inches away.  Slide down to about a 45 degree angle.  Your weight should be evenly distributed on your feet.  If you can’t press your heels down, your feet are too close to the wall.  Press your hips, shoulder blades, and head to the wall and lengthen your spine for stability.

Here’s the challenge:  

How long can you hold it?  Time yourself!

Full Wall Sit:

1-Legged Wall Sit:

Wall Sit with Stability Ball (SB): You can progress this exercise into one leg.

SB Wall Sit with Medicine Ball Rotation:

Give it a go, and let me know how you do!

*Please consult your physician before starting any new exercise program.

Happy Mom’s Day!

19 thoughts on “Wall Sit Challenge!

  1. I haven’t done wall sits for a long time. Thanks for the reminder on how great this is for my lower body! By the way, found out I have frozen shoulder…ugh. PT exercises 3 times a day. Happy Mother’s Day!

    • Oh no! When I worked in PT, that was the one injury that scared me. Your PT is going to hurt, but you have to do it to get your range of motion back! I’m sorry to hear that – but hope u also have a fab day today!

  2. Ah yes! I remember this one now. I did them in elementary school, but I’m sure I can pick this up easily–except for the ball, that might be a challenge since I’ve never used it for anything before.

  3. I always forget about these moves. Thank you for reminding me. I’m going to have to work up to that one leg one and the ball one. Good for you, thank you and as always I love your posts!

  4. My 10-year-old found me doing wall sits last week and thought I was crazy. I challenged him to join me, and he only lasted 10 seconds (before he lost interest, not necessarily before he couldn’t hold it any longer). I still consider it a wall sit win for Mom!

  5. Pingback: 5 Core Exercises using a Wall | Joy, Fitness, & Style

  6. Pingback: A Hiking Circuit Workout | Joy, Fitness, & Style

Leave a Reply

